Highway Safety Committee

Regular Meetings

  • 7:15 a.m.
  • 4th Tuesday of every month
  • Bedford Community Television Studio
    10 Meetinghouse Road
    Bedford, NH 03110

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
View All Agendas and Minutes


Charlene T. Robinson, Secretary


The Bedford Highway Safety Committee also makes recommendations to the Town Council on development projects that impact traffic and proposed ordinances such as 4-way stop signs, speed zone changes and any other issues that impact highway safety within the town of Bedford.


The Highway Safety Committee is made up of a representative of the Police, Fire and Highway Departments (usually the head of those departments), a representative of the school department, a town councilor and two residents.

Highway Safety Act

The Highway Safety Act of 1966 made federal agencies responsible for the implementation of a national highway safety program. The Act provides financial assistance for state and local agencies on a matching basis. All of that in turn is funneled through the New Hampshire Highway Safety Agency to the municipal Highway Safety Agency such as Bedford's. This is where the Police department is able to secure matching funds for such highway safety equipment as radars and monies for salaries to run patrols targeted for seat belt compliance, red light violations and other motor vehicle infractions.